Where is everyone?
Posted by

I have not been on She Writes in quite a while due to the constraints of caring for four kids and aging parents along with the obsession with the act of writing itself. It looks like the rest of the group is equally busy!

I'm curious though as to which types of mystery writers we have on here -- noir, cozy, thriller, mystery/suspense. My first novel is more like an historical court room drama, but the other three are mystery/suspense (two are part of a series). The one I am just beginning, however, will be a thriller.

I'm in the submission stage for the series with my agent, she's currently reading the third mystery/suspense and we're holding onto the courtroom drama until I'm hooked up with a good publisher who can advice on the direction for revisions. Where are the rest of you in your careers right now?

Replies
  • Lori,

I can certainly understand how busy you must be with children and parents. I recently moved in with my eighty-five year old mother so I can relate - at least a little bit.

I write the Malone mystery series, which includes Mixed Messages, Unfinished Business and Desperate Deeds. The fourth book in the series, Mistaken Identity, will be published by Post Mortem Press early this summer. I would classify my books as mystery/suspense although this next book would definitely fit into the cozy mystery category.

• That sounds like an interesting premise for a novel! I went through the same process regaining my fiction voice after 11 years in journalism. It wasn't easy. I'd been trained to keep my opinion and my voice out of my writing. I tackled it by working on my master's in creative writing part-time. One professor required eight short stories for the semester. That was a real turning point for me. It forced me to focus and to learn. My series begins in the mid-1990s. I'll be interested, when we start getting feedback, to see what editors think of that time period.