Finished my YA novel! Are you officially an author once you finish your book? Or do you have to be Published? Now what....
Posted by

Hey there ladies,

I am so happy that I finally finished my book. So now what? What is next? I am going to do my re-write checking formatting, spelling & grammar and plot details and story. After that I will have two folks who I know who are editors and they will review for me. Then I will re-write again. After that I guess its time to get an agent? 

Please let me know that I am on the right track. I don't have a title yet :(  has anyone dealt with that? Not knowing what to name your book after it was completed? Also am I an official author yet? I told two of my girlfriends last night (one who will edit my book she is an author herself) she said I will not be an author until it's published. Is that true? My other girlfriend said, "nonsense, I am an author because I wrote a book just not a published author.."  So what is really true?

Ladies, can I get some feedback on that? Also has anyone used an editor on Shewrites to review their book? Is it expensive?

Ladies, thanking you in advance.

Replies
  • I realise I'm about two years late to this thread, but it was so nice to see someone else who had the same questions I struggle with now. Thank you, T. Swift, for posting this!

• Congratulations on finishing a draft of your novel! I know how exhilarating that can be. I have grappled with the question of whether, or when, to call myself an author, after writing three novels (one published). Toni Morrison has said that she didn't consider herself an "author" until she had published several novels. (She was an editor at Random House for many years while writing her first books.) I tend to ask myself: "Am I writing?" and this is my validation for what I'm doing. So, I have to agree with B. Lynn Goodwin here...the act is really what's important.
  • Hey Pam,