What Makes Artists Well-Suited to Writing?
Posted by

V.B. Bernard asked the following, and it is discussion-worthy:

"I have been meaning to ask you all...what do you think it is about artists that make them so well suited for writing too? 

I think one thing is a finely tuned sense of detail.   And you?  What do you think?"

Replies
  • I think it's all in the way of being; you know like having something to say and then accompany it with a Visual image. I love writing Short Stories and accompany them with Visual Pictures to get the point across.
  • Good link -- metaphor!

I entered into writing as an artist / architect.  I hated writing as a kid.  I began drawing journals as an architect, and then writing accompanied them (I am decent at English, despite my dyslexia, thankfully.)  I grew to enjoying writing when it was for myself, then to tell stories, and frankly, now I am a writer first, though my skills as an artist are well-developed.  If I had tons of time I might find balance between the two, but having to choose I choose writing.

• Great question and discussion, artists/writers. I'm onboard with everything you've mentioned, so far, and am also thinking that a strong link between language and art may be metaphor. Both convey ideas, emotions, experiences using representational images. Both are profound processes for the creator and offer unlimited possibilities for expression. Art and writing are twin sisters, but not identical. During my many years as a middle school language arts teacher it was unthinkable to teach and expect learning to occur without incorporating both, and most of my students adored being able to enhance even their essays with visuals.  

I'm wondering which comes first for you.  Are you more artist or more writer?  Or are those passions equal for you?