How to make the choice Memoir vs. Novel?
Posted by

This is something I've given a lot of thought to in the past 24 hours. Currently, my manuscript is written as complete non-fiction. The positive is that the story is one of those where "truth is stranger than fiction" so it is unique and exciting on its own accord. The drawbacks are twofold:

1) I was restricted in writing style. I'm a sensing person. I feel everything in my bones. The girl whose story I told is not. Her story is an amazing journey, but I was limited in the way I told the story by my desire to be true to her voice.

2) I'm a first time author and don't have a desire to establish a global platform as an advocate. I just have an amazing story to tell, that's all. But because it has the words stamped on it nonfiction I'm having to jump through the same hoops as true nonfiction writers who give talks on radio shows and lead seminars.

All this to say I'm considering the merits of starting over and re-writing the book as a novel based on a true story. What about your work? What made you decide to go Memoir or a Fictionalized account of a true story? Here's a really great article I just read that might help you sort it through BEFORE you are firmly on a path one way or the other.

www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/10-ways-to-tell-if-your-story-should-be-a-memoir-or-a-novel

Replies
  • Great article- thank you for sharing it. These are all points that I have been struggling with. The memories are mine but are they accurate? Do I want to alienate family members? If it becomes a work of fiction, do I lose my voice somehow? I am not sure yet what I want to do and perhaps I do not need to make the decision now.
  • After reading this, I am highly considering writing a memoir. I did not grow doing what I wanted to do and that struggle could spark a few pages here and there.