The goal of a book title: accuracy, or sales?
Posted by

Hi all, this is my first post on She Writes, a very cool site!

I have been working all year on a book I have already been marketing as "Confessions of a Golf Slut... a memoir on life, love, and The Game." After doing two books the traditional way, I am self-publishing because I want to make money! I have a great platform, an online golf magazine for women and an email newsletter that goes to 4,000 women who like golf. I realize that some men may buy the book because of the title, and I am OK about that.( As one expert said to me, "Any man who buys a book because he thinks it's about sex deserves whatever he gets.") In fact, a golf slut is someone who will play anywhere, anytime, with anyone, and the story is about where this philosophy has taken me in life. The book is quite a yarn, you'll-laugh-you'll-cry chick lit.

Because I have been a journalist for more than 30 years, I have a great network of talented colleagues, six of whom who are currently going over the manuscript. I have already gotten positive feedback from three of them after just a few days, but, here is what one of them said:

It's so deep and raw, naked and charming - i hate the title, it's nowhere near how special, how emotionally pre-eminent, your story is.

She was halfway through and had just finished perhaps the deepest, rawest part.

Yet on some level, I get what she is saying about the title. Influencers and media people I know love the title, and so does the publisher I have almost selected. It should sell. And, technically speaking, it is true. But is it too shallow, too frivolous, for a book that is neither shallow nor frivolous?