First Book Advice Appreciated!
Posted by

The finish line is in sight!  For the writing phase, that is.

My cover is completed, the text is formatted, and we are almost ready for printing my first book.  Now that the writing is done, I'm facing the next hurdle - getting my book 'out there'.  I'm reaching out for some advice.

A bit of background.  My book is nonfiction and has a very specific audience.  I am a retired teacher with a doctorate in education.  For many years, I led groups of gifted students to a small island, also a state park, on the coast of Georgia where we studied the unique ecosystems there - maritime forest, salt marsh and beach.  We also learned about the fascinating history of this island.  I'm now a part-time resident there with a small condo that we rent to cover expenses.   The island is in the middle of a revitalization with a new convention center and new hotels being built, all under limitations that require that 65% of the island remain undeveloped.

I have written a guide for families visiting there.  It has guided walks through the forest, marsh, and along the beach and includes cross-curricular learning activities. There are chapters on birding and biking the island, as well as about the history.

My plans include a trip there in late September with my newly printed books in hand to call upon the small independent bookstore on the island as well as those in nearby towns.  I am going to visit all the gift shops and hotels to try to get my book included in their stores.  

I will contact local papers and magazines, as well as the local library.

I'm going to contact my local independent bookstores around the town where I actually live and hope to get a few copies in those, too.  

I published independently, creating my own publishing company, hiring a cover designer and am having the printing done myself.  So far, so good!  But now I need some advice.

My questions are: