What IS Literary Fiction?
Posted by

I am new to all of these different genres. Can someone explain Please?

Replies
  • To me, literary fiction is about a sensibility, a state of mind, a subtle world-view that the characters occupy on the page.  The prose supports this sensibility.  Commercial fiction is firmly anchored in the visible world, and less in the private realm of one's thoughts and ruminations.  Not a clear divide, obviously.  There are many commercial authors who write very lyrically, and many literary authors with dynamite, fast-moving plots.  The question is, what is the author emphasising most?  Language (sensitiliby-driven) and character, or plot?  These, like many other distictions in the writing world, are for marketing purposes.  At some point we have to decide what to call what we've written.  I wouldn't worry too much about before the work is done, though.  Let you instinct be your guide, and name the result afterwards.

• I think I would add one thing re literary fiction--the *way* it is told helps to tell the story. That is, any fancy writing serves some deeper purpose for the story being told. If its dreamlike, it's a dreamlike character, or perhaps a pre-languge child. Stuff like that.

That said, what I got from editors at conferences was soooo mixed. Very clean and good writing that long ago would have been considered up-market fiction was called literary fiction by many, but not all.
  • I agree that CNF needs to be true.  My impression was that Shirley had written something true but had changed the names to avoid libel issues, assuming that the murderer has not been convicted.  Although I'm not a lawyer, and libel might still be an issue if the characters are identifiable. 

One of the many, many reasons I write fiction is that it allows me to be more truthful than if I were writing nonfiction -- no fudging the truth to protect other people's feelings.