New here and feeling a bit paralyzed
Posted by

I'm new to the She Writes community but not new to writing. I've been writing in some form or another for the past 25 years but was never motivated to submit anything until recently. Now I'm feeling overwhelmed by all the choices involved in my next step. First, I have a lot of pieces that I'd like to have published. I've been involved in a writing group for quite some time so many of my essays have been re-written and polished. I don't have a favorite so I'm having a hard time focusing on choosing one or two to submit to the appropriate magazine or journal. Trying to learn about what might be appropriate for my style and topic of essay also has me a bit stuck.

And one final problem is that I'm not sure whether I want to be submitting essays at all. I've got enough material about one topic that I may want to make it a book. But the work involved in getting a book deal makes me want to go fetal in the corner.

I know I just need to breathe and take it one baby step at a time. Which I have tried. I have submitted one essay to a few different places. It was rejected two of the places and no word yet on the third. The rejection isn't what turns me off as much as not knowing what step to take next. Submit the same essay again? But where? Try a new essay? Same place? Different place? Is it better to aim high in the beginning or set more realistic goals? I don't want to sell myself short but I don't want burn out on rejections either.

I really just want someone to hold my hand, tell me it's going to be okay... and then offer me a book deal ;-)

Anyone been here? Felt this way? What helped you the most?

Replies
  • I, too, am feeling overwhelmed by all the information out there. I report and write for a living, but I just recently decided that I wanted to truly commit to my writing. It's time.