Query Feedback Requested - Stormland
Posted by

Hi everyone!

I'm new to She Writes, and am looking for feedback on the latest version of my query.  Thank you for your help!

-Sharon

I read in an interview that you like (x), so I hope you will enjoy my 70,000 word upper young adult science fiction novel, STORMLAND

Every girl in the Republic dreams of having a life like Lena Lowell’s—a skyrocketing career as a pop idol, a charmed life in Capital City, and a boyfriend who is the heir to the most powerful political dynasty in the nation.  Lena wishes happiness was that simple, but it was her boyfriend’s father who dropped the bomb that destroyed her homeland of Stormland, and the nightmares about the fire in the sky don’t look they’re ever going away.   

Lena’s life is shattered when faces from her nightmares show up on live news.  The Wilde family, the superhuman aristocrats of Stormland and the Republic’s most feared enemies, are not as extinct as people thought. Their return brings the threat of war along with a handsome and reckless young Wilde who is drawn to Lena.

Swept up in political intrigue and a dangerous love triangle, Lena quickly finds herself in over her head, buffeted between powerful rulers whose schemes were set in motion before she was born. Is Lena just a pawn in their game—or is she a wild card, whose unique vision and courage will disrupt the centuries-long cycle of violence? All will be decided in the ruins of Stormland, where Lena will make a choice that will determine the fate of two nations locked on a collision course for war.

STORMLAND was a runner-up in the Made of Awesome blog contest judged by agent Judith Engracia of Liza Dawson and Associates and I have been published in small press magazines such as Nerve Cowboy and Nomad’s Choir

At your request, I would be pleased to send you more of STORMLAND.  Thank you for your consideration.

Replies
  • Sharon,