Is the voice of your blog and book the same?
Posted by

I'm working on a book proposal for my blog and I have over 75 pages of book worthy blog material but now I'm thinking that the voice of the blog should be different from the book. 

Anyone else struggling to find the voice and write the first chapter? I'm stuck on both--unless I write two different books on the same subject. 

Ideas? Advice? 

Lisa

Replies
  • My blog and books are on a continuum, developing together. At http://stephanierosebirdstudio.blogspot.com, I have been blogging for about 3 years. Sometimes I blog every day. I relate back ideas from my books in my blogs and try to generate conversation about my novels and nonfiction books with the visitors that stop by. I have been stuck with elements of both the fiction and nonfiction and use the blog, almost as a daily diary, to figure those difficult passages out. My voice in nonfiction is the consistent with the one used on the blog. It differs in fiction because of the voice of the characters.

www.stephanierosebird.com

•  Soe very helpful stuff here! I've been writing for20 years, but only blogging for 3 months. Because I think of the blog as the 'not writing novel me' it is more personal and daft than the books - tho' some may disagree. Clearly you may have to tidy up your blog a bit - take out some very personal stuff, add some more generall interest bits. Or you could assume a persona and do the blog in 'her' voice. Then keep the blog as a separate outlet, as in: the story of ''Liza Kirr' who writes a blog and is struggling to get it published - with excerpts.

Send me your blog site, anyway, I'll take a look. I'm at http://carolhedges.blogspot.com

Good luck with your project, whatever you decide. Main thin is, ENJOY!!!!! or what's the point? :  ) carol the Brit