Hello all! I am a non-fiction/autobiographical writer and sometimes a poet, diagnosed bipolar...trade you a poem?

Hello!

I just joined She Writes and reading this group's description, it seemed like a good fit for me and my most creative writing: poetry.  You may be interested in checking out my writing on my website, Practice of Madness [street sociology, survivor stories, a madwoman versus society].

I suppose I'll introduce myself here by sharing my favourite poem, and the only one I've ever given at a public reading, "Fear of Flying" - I would love to hear some of yours in return!:

One flew apart over another ocean yesterday.

Rio to France.  “An American holding dual citizenship but traveling using his ‘non-American passport’ – no more comments can be made at this time,” says a director of Foreign Affairs.

Flash, flash, go the cameras.  Apparently the Russians are still coming – how many months until the right to dual citizenship iserased?

I must avoid crossing that border at all costs.

Violated by men with beeping magic wands because I wouldn’t take off my belt.  You can see my scars now, are you happy?  Flash grins to the other men; apparently so.  Damaged Goods

but I can still make it hard.

Three, two, one.

Tried to sleep in the next terminal – International Arrivals.  Could understand a black-haired language so I couldn’t rest my head, but I realized I got an ‘A’,

No matter what my papers say.

Flowers and laughter, this side of the water.

Think about work and my hands feel like they could emit light; can’t even look at the screen or I will be sick all over your clean, crisp uniform

on the first hot day of summer.  Thirty-one degrees and it smells like teen spirit.

“We’re still waiting on some paperwork,” says the Speaker,

“We’ll take off soon.”

A drunk or a rapist is led off the plane by a woman smaller than me –

“I didn’t do nothin’ wrong!”

Can’t help but laugh out loud,

Sitting alone here, pouring my guts out, hope returns, way to go,