Favorite authors?
I'm new to thrillers, and wondered which books/series and writers you would consider "essential" reading in the genre. Who do you read over and over again?
Replies
  • The jumping-to-conclusions-worrywart doesn't know what she's talking about. Like Kristen said, forge ahead. Prove her wrong!
  • Thanks for answering, Kristen! I see that the genre is much broader than people might realize. The part about Stephen King... just finished reading a biography about him. His writing changed for the better after he stopped doing drugs and drinking-- just before Dolores Claiborne, I think. I always wondered how the same person could write both The Shining and The Green Mile/The Shawshank Redemption, etc.

I felt the "signature", rote thing happening with Anne Rice's books. I voraciously read the first few books following Interview With The Vampire, then couldn't continue. She has so many supporting characters, not all of them as interesting as the original, main characters (like Lestat, Louis, Armand). Maybe she just got caught up in the question: "I wonder where this character came from?".

• Q.  Anyone else have this problem?  

A.  Yes. 

I've seen this many times, and without having yet published a book, I wonder how to 'keep it fresh.'  The jumping-to-conclusions-worrywart in me is forever asking (as I try to compose the First Fresh Thing) "What if you say it again."  "Maybe you've exhausted your imagination already."  I just wish she'd let me get the first round of imaginary capers off the ground before she butts in.   ;>