Introductions

OK, I'll go first.

I'm a screenwriter, author, creative writing coach and Shakespeare scholar. I've been a journalist, an Oxford don and an agony aunt for teens.I was commissioned to write a historical epic/love tragedy by an independent Hollywood producer (in development) and have had two of my spec scripts optioned. My academic books include Shakespeare's Theory of Drama and Staging Shakespeare at the New Globe, and the mainstream bestseller, Filthy Shakespeare.

I'm passionate about writers who challenge and disturb me, whether in poems, novels or films, and I believe fervently that there are no rules in creative endeavour. Following How To Books too often stifles the creative brain.

I set up my website of articles, Unique Screenwriting, as an antidote to the screenwriting 'gurus' who bully writers into submission to their ridiculous one-size-fits-all, outdated templates which produce scripts that are derivative, formulaic and forgettable - and that no producer I know would want to buy.

I live in Oxford with my partner and an adorable fluffy cream cat and miss my 22 year old son who's at university now like mad. Fortinately he likes coming home a lot and I get treated to his piano playing that mostly makes me want to cry at its beauty.

Replies
  • I am in the process of changing my Viking romance/crime novel into a screenplay. Looking at all the other replies I feel like a real amateur, but I love writing a script and it seems natural. Obviously this might mean its a load of rubbish but I'm 75% through it and determined to finish.