Are writers "artists"?
Posted by
Do the fiction writers on this site see themselves as artist?
Replies
  • I can only speak for myself and I say, "Absolutely"  This is my art form, words come, not just from, but through me, inspired.

From where I sit, over here, the urge to express with words on a page feels quite like the urge the urge to employ any other form of creative/artistic expression.  Sometimes I play with words molding them into what may fit loosely into a something called "poetry."  In this play, how the words look on the page is a much a visual art as it is literary.

So...there you go.

Cheers

Jean Marie

• I'm a non-fiction writer, and I consider myself an artist. I create something that is meant to inform and inspire emotion. It's a lot like collage (which I also do).
  • I believe it is, anytime we are able to take ordinary events and weave them into a pattern of words and phrases that is capable of evoking human emotion, we have created art.

• I kind of waffle back and forth about whether I'm an artist at all, in any aspect of my life, even though my current primary job title is "fiber artist" — go figure. But I feel being an artist is partly about self-identification — which you might agree with to some extent, from the way you phrased the question? ;) And so when I don't self-identify as an artist due to feeling a consistent lack of creative energy, maybe I'm not an artist.

On the other hand, calling myself "not an artist" really strikes me as wrong. So HMMM. Maybe I'm like a nonpracticing artist during those times when I don't really identify strongly with the word. ;)