Curator of the Week Dec. 13 - Dec. 19
Posted by
Please welcome this week's curator, Helen Gallagher, who authors two blogs, Release Your Writing and Pajama Marketing . See what gold Helen uncovers in three of your fellow bloggers blogs.
Replies
  • Helen, I support any action where the aim is to celebrate others. Enjoyed reading each of your choices. I, too, love short fiction, like Emma I am a Dickinson fan and Jackie, a teacher, enough said. Enough praised can't be heaped upon teachers. Helen Gallagher said:
    I’ve been blogging since 2004, and I couldn’t wait for my turn as Curator of the Week. My how things have changed. It offered me an indulgent Sunday morning to explore the full list of SheWrites bloggers. We have both a fabulous cross-section of women here and a startling diversity in our lives as writers. I splashed around in the deep end of the pool, fascinated to find blogs ranging from drinking to feminism, motherhood, spirituality, and always women writing, women writing, women writing. After doing the math to magically shrink 700 terrific blogs down to three, here are my choices.

1) A Patchwork Life by Jackie Regales
    2) Diary of a Heretic by Kathleen Maher
    3) A Century of Nerve, by Emma Bolden

A Patchwork Life
    by Jackie Regales

Jackie’s patchwork blog, started in 2007, combines her writing, learning, parenting and work as a school teacher. Her words never reveal the chaos behind her calm, thoughtful prose, except in early November. Jackie had an “unbloggable issue” and went silent for a bit. Perhaps better to do so than write what can’t be spoken in difficult times. Her silence didn’t last long, and her heart returned to tell us more.

Sidebars, an important part of a blog’s structure, lead the reader a glimpse into the fullness of her life: Cook’s Choice, Learning by Going Where I Need to Go, and Bookwormings.