Separating writing from blogging
I'm new to the blog scene so I'm having difficulty separating out my blog writing from the work I'm hoping to publish. Any comments? Jessica The Light Daughter
Replies
  • a
    {develop one's' own voice and style}........hi, that strikes the chord in me .i have a hint of my own voice and style. that sort of gives it an artistic flavor. i like that a lot. having been choreographing and improvising dance which leads to set pieces , for years, i can relate this to blogging first and then tightening up on the direction of the writing and yielding to a style......and perhaps a purpose.........and an audience for the words. Elaine Harrigan said:
    Everyone's comments have been tremendously helpful! I started out blogging to be a better writer. After a couple of months--and with helpful feedback from readers--I started to develop my own voice and style, and began treating my blog, Blooming in Midlife, more like a syndicated column about the trials and tribulations of middle age. I deleted many of my early posts that were just rambling random thoughts, and have tried to deliberately craft essays that are sparked by daily incidences. So I guess you could say I've adopted a more editorial attitude. What it's gotten me so far is an opportunity to guest write for MORE.com which puts my writing in front of thousands of readers in my target audience (women over 40), and under the watchful eye of a More editor. In the back of my mind is always the thought, "maybe they'll love this piece so much they'll want to publish it and pay me!" In that sense, my blogging is where I test-run ideas and stories that may (hopefully) lead to greater things. The instant gratification of glowing reader comments doesn't hurt, either! (You can read one of my latest rants about bathing suits issues here.)