Greetings!
Posted by
Hi everyone, and thanks for joining my group. There are 7 of us now, which is a meaty enough number to generate some dialogue. I started this group because I write about trauma, both professionally (as a sociologist) and personally, through creative nonfiction and memoir. I'm working on a book about infant mortality right now, and have also recently completed a draft of a new piece on harassment and assault. Over the years I've been writing about trauma, I've learned that this comes with costs. Vicarious trauma and 'triggering' are real possibilities, and there are too few outlets for discussing and sharing these. Also, there are ethical concerns when writing about other people's trauma, and these also deserve thoughtful conversation. I'd love to hear from all of you about how you "write trauma" and what you'd like to see discussed in this group.
Replies
  • Monica, I'd like to join your group on writing about trauma. I'm new to SheWrites. I thought I had completed my memoir about a cancer journey, until I received my third diagnosis last year. I'll be updating the story before I submit it somewhere. I'm interested in meeting another writer who might be willing to read the book and give feedback on whether I should publish.
  • Hello everyone. I'm Lakeisha and I'm new to SheWrites. I've only written about my personal trauma through journaling. But, I'm ready to share my story with others. I'm here to learn how to express myself without fear.