Welcome!
Posted by
Hi, I'm Gemma. I'm a teen author that writes supernatural thrillers and romances. I've always been a HUGE fan of slasher films, the Child's Play series and Freddie Krugar being my favorites, so it's pretty easy to see what got me into the darker side of the fictional universe. As you've probably guessed, I use a lot of really mature themes in my work (violence and gore, pedophilia and child marriage, to name a few). But those things get a lot of backlash, as do their opposites, and I wanted a place where I can talk about those things and where others can talk about them, too. So, if you write darker fiction, or you could help others write darker fiction with your know-how, come on in! If you can help others in there dark fiction journey then it doesn't matter what genre you write in, come talk. I'm looking forward to talking with you.
Replies
  • Sorry for the extremely late reply, Melissa, life got to me. I think the potential opinion of readers is always a stressor for writers--I know it is for me--but especially when darker and more controversial themes are employed in the story. Personally, I haven't had anyone be put off by my dark fiction, but I have been put off by others' fiction. Honestly, there's always going to be some people that DO like dark fiction but don't like a particular dark story or the way a certain author handles some themes--it's unavoidable, and as hard as it can be, it really is best to not worry about too much about it. Some people will enjoy your story, others won't, regardless of the presence of controversial themes.